Cardullo Named Howard H Hays Chair and Director of University Honors

Richard Cardullo, professor of biology and a distinguished teaching professor at UCR  was named the Howard H. Hays Chair and director of University Honors on August 4.
The chair endowment will provide funding in support of research in conjunction with University Honors and in accordance with University policy.
Cardullo’s research has focused on the molecular, cellular, and physical determinants of fertilization in a variety of animal systems. He has also conducted research on how people learn, especially in K-12 and undergraduate environments. His research has been published in both scientific and educational journals. As a member of the University Honors Faculty Committee, he has contributed to a number of classes in UCR Honors, including ignition seminars on the nature of creativity and discovery, lectures on epistemology, as well as classes on the nature of research. In 1999 he was awarded the UCR Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award and in 2007 was appointed to the UCR Academy of Distinguished Teachers.
Cardullo has held a number of leadership positions both on and off campus. He was the graduate advisor for both recruitment and continuing students in the department of biology, served as the department chair for Biology from 2004-2009 and was the divisional dean of life sciences in the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences (CNAS) from 2010-2012. He has been the project director for three graduate training grants and is currently the faculty director for the UCR California Alliance for Minority Participation (CAMP) and the CNAS faculty director for the STEM Pathway programs.
At a national level, Cardullo has been actively engaged in efforts to transform how faculty teach and students learn. In 2006 he was recognized as a National Academy of Sciences Life Science Leadership Fellow, and in 2012 he was selected as one of 40 educators nationally as an HHMI/NIH/NSF Vision and Change Fellow.
He currently serves as the chair of the board of the Biological Sciences Curriculum Study in Colorado Springs, a nonprofit organization that researches the teaching and learning of science, and is the president of the Pacific Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Cranor Honored by the Phi Beta Kappa Society

Carl Cranor, a distinguished professor of philosophy and faculty member of the Environmental Toxicology Graduate Program, has been awarded the prestigious Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship in Philosophy for 2014-15. Cranor is known globally for his research on the regulation of toxic substances, the ethics of risk, and the philosophy of law and science.
The Romanell Professorship is awarded to one philosopher every year by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the oldest and most widely known academic honor society in the United States. The annual award carries with it a stipend of $7,500.

Tang Receives Young Investigator Award

Ming Lee Tang, an assistant professor of chemistry, has received a Young Investigator Award from the Army Research Office for her proposal “Creating magnetic plasmons at visible frequencies: towards isotropic negative index metamaterials.”
Tang’s research utilizes bottom-up self-assembly of 3D assemblies of plasmonic nanoparticles for the manipulation of visible light.  Plasmonic nanoparticles are metal nanoparticles that are very efficient at absorbing and scattering light.
“Nanoparticles made of gold and other noble metals can be made into parts of artificial molecules, much like atoms form the basis for molecules,” Tang said.
These nanoparticles can absorb or scatter light in specific regions of the visible spectrum. By building 3D assemblies of nanoparticles Tang’s lab can control interactions of light with matter.

UCR Gets Honorable Mention

The Graduate Enrolled Student System at UCR is a repository of records that delivers a comprehensive view of graduate students’ financial support. This enables more efficient management and processing of graduate students’ awards. The system received an honorable mention from the 2014 Larry L. Sautter Awards. The Sautter awards recognize campuses that use information technology to make university operations more effective and efficient to better serve faculty, staff, students and patients.
The annual award, which is sponsored by the UC Information Technology Leadership Council, recognizes innovations in IT that advance the university’s missions of teaching, research, public service and patient care, or that improve the effectiveness of university processes. The award encourages sharing these solutions across the UC system.

Larive Receives Volunteer Service Award from the American Chemical Society

Cynthia Larive, a professor of chemistry and the divisional dean for chemistry, mathematics, and physics and astronomy in the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, has received the 2015 Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society.  The award recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals and objectives of the society.  Larive will receive the award in spring next year at the national meeting of the society in Denver, Colo.  Later, she will present an address at the fall national meeting of the society in Boston.

Top of Page