Guanxiong Liu Wins Materials Research Society Best Poster Award

Guanxiong Liu, a postdoctoral researcher in the Nano-Device Laboratory (NDL) and the Phonon Optimized Engineered Materials (POEM) Center led by Professor Alexander A. Balandin, received a Best Poster Award at the 2016 Materials Research Society (MRS) Spring Meeting in Phoenix, Ariz.

Guanxiong Liu.

Guanxiong Liu.

Liu was among five winners selected from more than 400 posters presented at the meeting. Titled “In-Situ Raman Spectroscopy of the Charge-Density-Wave Phase Transitions in Tantalum Disulfide Thin Films,” Liu’s paper reported spectroscopic evidence of the room temperature charge-density-wave phase transition triggered by voltage in thin films of Tantalum Disulfide. The research was conducted in collaboration with Professor Tina Salguero of the University of Georgia.

Professor Cindy Larive Appointed Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education

Cindy Larive, professor of Chemistry and divisional dean for physical sciences and mathematics in the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, will serve as vice provost for Undergraduate Education effective July 1, 2016.

Larive, who received her Ph.D. from UCR in 1992, joined the Department of Chemistry in 2005. In addition to an impressive record of publications in bioanalytical chemistry, she also has published and given invited presentations on topics related to teaching, mentoring, active learning, undergraduate research and curricular reform. She has led or participated as a Co-PI in education-related grants from the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the Hewlett Foundation. In 2011 Dr. Larive received UCR’s Innovative Teaching Award and she also is the recipient of the J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education from the American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry.

Professor Steven Brint had served as VPUE during the past five years. He will return full-time to the faculty.

Professor to Receive Award for ‘Commitment to Graduate Diversity’

Victor Rodgers, Jacques S. Yeager, Sr. Professor of Bioengineering, has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the annual faculty award at UC Riverside for “Commitment to Graduate Diversity.”

“Professor Rodgers has been an active and visible advocate for diversity in STEM since his arrival on campus. In helping to establish the graduate program in Bioengineering, he has underscored the importance of a diverse cohort as integral to student success and as contributing to the overall quality of graduate training. He has helped to make Bourns College of Engineering’s diversity recruitment record truly outstanding over the last several years,” said Joseph Childers, the dean of the Graduate Division.

Rodgers was also recognized for his outreach efforts, both in concert with the Graduate Division, as well as individually for bioengineering and Bourns college. Among those efforts are his involvement in SACNAS (Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science) and the GEM consortium, a network of leading corporations, government laboratories, top universities, and top research institutions that enables qualified students from underrepresented communities to pursue graduate education in applied science and engineering.

“It is through the efforts of faculty like Professor Rodgers that UCR continues to set a national standard for diversity in the recruitment and academic success of students pursuing graduate degrees,” Childers said.

UCR Has New Vice Provost of Administrative Resolution

Provost Paul D’Anieri announced that Professor of Psychology John Andersen will be UCR’s Vice Provost for Administrative Resolution effective July 1.

Andersen has been a faculty member in the Department of Psychology at UCR for 25 years. He has an extensive record of externally funded research on human attention and perception, especially related to vision and driver safety. He was elected as a fellow of the AAAS in 2003 and a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science in 2007.

He has extensive experience with the faculty merit and promotion process and the faculty code of conduct, as well as a broad perspective on the range of scholarly activities across our campus. He has also served as a member of several of our Senate committees, including Committee on Academic Personnel, University Committee on Academic Personnel, Committee on Charges, Graduate Council, Committee on Research, and Committee on Committees.

D’Anieri thanked Professor Dan Ozer for his three years of service in the position.

The search committee was chaired by Ameae Walker, vice provost for academic personnel and professor of Biomedical Sciences. Committee members were: Elaine Wong, associate professor of management; Rich Cardullo, professor of biology; David Funder, distinguished professor of ssychology; Joel Sachs, associate professor of biology; Bill Kidder, associate vice chancellor and chief compliance officer;  and student representative Anondah Saide.


Top of Page