BCOE Has Interim Dean

The search for the next dean of the Bourns College of Engineering will continue into the fall. Meanwhile Sharon Walker, professor and John Babbage chair in environmental engineering and associate dean for Student Academic Affairs, has agreed to serve as interim dean of BCOE effective July 18, 2016.

Walker received her Ph.D. from Yale University and joined the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering at UCR in 2005. Her research program focuses on water quality, particularly the fate and transport of bacteria and nanoparticles in water.

Since joining UCR, Walker has received a Fulbright Fellowship, multiple awards from the National Science Foundation, including a CAREER award and both ADVANCE and IGERT grants, and the Chancellor’s Award for mentoring undergraduates in research. She also has served as associate dean of the graduate division.

“Please join me in welcoming Sharon and thanking her for taking on this interim leadership role in BCOE,” said Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Paul J. D’Anieri. “I also want to again thank Reza Abbaschian for his many contributions to our campus during more than ten years of service as dean of BCOE. We wish him well in his new role as director of the Winston Chung Global Energy Center at UCR.”

McMullin Named Board Member of the UC Global Health Institute

Juliet McMullin, an associate professor in the Division of Clinical Sciences and the associate director for community engagement in the Center for Healthy Communities in the School of Medicine, has been named a board member of the University of California Global Health Institute.

McMullin, a cooperating faculty member in the Department of Anthropology, is a cultural and medical anthropologist. She joined the Center for Healthy Communities in 2014. Her research interests include the political economy of health and the role of narrative in medical encounters. She has worked extensively with underserved populations, particularly Latinos and Pacific Islanders.

The UC Global Health Institute, which works to train the next generation of global health leaders and accelerate the discovery and implementation of transformative global health solutions, also named the following new board members: Timothy Brewer at UCLA; Nancy Burke at UC Merced; Matthew Guthaus at UC Santa Cruz; Brad Pollock at UC Davis; and Steffanie Strathdee at UC San Diego.

The board is responsible for providing guidance to the institute in overall policy and direction in meeting organizational goals.

Larry L. Sautter Tech Awards Announced

The University of California System recognized 10 innovative technology projects on Tuesday, July 12 during the annual UC Computing Services Conference.

The annual awards program honoring achievements in Information Technology efficiency and innovation are named in honor of former UC Riverside Chief Information Officer Larry L. Sautter, who died of cancer in 1999.

The awards honor work that advances the university’s missions of teaching, research, public service and patient care, or that improve the effectiveness of university processes. The award encourages collaboration and solution sharing across the UC system. Over the course of the awards, UC Riverside has earned two Gold awards, 10 Silver awards and eight Honorable Mentions.

Read the complete story at ucrtoday.ucr.edu.

Walkers Add Up More Than a Million Steps

Julie Chobdee, Wellness Program coordinator, announced top winners for the campus’ WalkingFit program. Staff and faculty literally clocked in more than a million steps during the second quarter in 2016.

  • Top walker, advanced level: Luz Palomo, 2,647,055 steps
  • Top walkers, beginner level: Yuridia Reynoso, Raymond Bolles and Penni Ebina all reached 1,365,000 steps
  • Top Department: Child Development Center, 7,177,687 steps

Top walker winners receive a gift card from The Barn. Prizes should be picked up at the Recreation Center front desk or at Human Resources.

Click here for the step conversion chart or to visit the UCR Wellness Program website.

Top of Page