Southern California Eukaryotic Pathogen Symposium Gathers Researchers on Nov. 2 to Focus on Parasites and Fungi

Sixth annual symposium at UC Riverside will feature Richard E. Davis of the University of Colorado as keynote speaker

The Southern California Eukaryotic Pathogen Symposium will be held at UC Riverside on Nov. 2.

RIVERSIDE, Calif. — Faculty researchers, postdoctoral scientists and graduate students from throughout Southern California will gather at the 6th Annual Southern California Eukaryotic Pathogen (SCEP) Symposium, scheduled for 8:45 a.m. to 6 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 2, in the Genomics Auditorium at the University of California, Riverside.

Eukaryotic pathogens, including parasites and fungi, can lead to a variety of diseases in humans, animals and plants such as malaria, toxoplasmosis, babesiosis, schistosomiasis, and plant infections leading to major crop losses worldwide. The symposium will include short talks and posters by researchers from more than 15 Southern California labs who investigate the inner workings and host responses to important pathogens.

Keynote speaker for the SCEP Symposium will be Richard E. Davis, Ph.D., a faculty member at the University of Colorado who studies the molecular biology of parasitic worms with a focus on atypical molecular processes, including spliced leader RNA trans-splicing and programmed DNA elimination.

Symposium registration, abstract submission, continental breakfast, lunch and reception are all free. However, registration is required. Due to the increasing popularity of this meeting, the number of attendees is limited to the first 100 who register.

Information, registration and online abstract submission is available at

Symposium sponsors are: the UCR Center for Disease Vector Research, the UCR Institute for Integrative Genome Biology; UCR School of Medicine, Division of Biomedical Sciences; Graduate Student Association (GSA); Department of Cell Biology and Neuroscience; and Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology.

The SCEP Symposium organizing committee is comprised of: Meera Nair, assistant professor of biomedical sciences; Karine Le Roch, professor of cell biology and neuroscience; and Emma Wilson, associate professor of biomedical sciences.

Media Contact

Tel: (951) 827-4688

Additional Contacts

Iqbal Pittalwala
Tel: (951) 827-6050

Archived under: Health, Science/Technology, , , ,

Top of Page