Distinguished Professor Reza Abbaschian Named Honorary AIME Member

Distinguished Professor Reza Abbaschian is recognized with the 2017 AIME Honorary Membership Award. Pictured with AIME President Nikhil Trivedi (left).

The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (TMS), with approval from the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineering (AIME) Board, has selected Distinguished Professor Reza Abbaschian to receive the 2017 AIME Honorary Membership Award.

The recognition is the highest honor the Institute can bestow upon an individual and is awarded in appreciation of outstanding service to the Institute or in recognition of distinguished scientific or engineering achievement in the fields embracing the activities of AIME and its Member Societies. Only 1/10th of 1 percent of membership can become AIME Honorary Members. The second recipient is Rohit Trivedi, a Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Iowa State University.

Dr. Abbaschian was selected “for pioneering contributions in solidification processing, materials education, and leadership in materials science and engineering worldwide.”

In February 2017, AIME President Nikhil Trivedi presented Dr. Abbaschian with a three-inch silver ceremonial medallion hung from a blue and white ribbon that bears the institute insignia, Abbaschian’s name and year of presentation. A shadowbox frame with his name on an engraved nameplate is provided for display of the medallion along with a lapel pin, which is a replica of the medallion.

Media Contact

Tel: (951) 827-2988
E-mail: angela.meluski@ucr.edu

Additional Contacts

Angela Meluski
Tel: 951-827-2988
E-mail: ameluski@engr.ucr.edu

Archived under: Inside UCR, , ,

Top of Page