Staff Assembly: ‘Outstanding Staff Awards’ Reception and Announcement of New Executive Board

This year there were 18 finalists and eight award recipients

Outstanding Staff Awards recipients on June 12, 2017. Top row (left to right): Rena Burton, Frederick Do, Frank Figueroa, and Ross French. Bottom row (left to right) Brittnee Meitzenheimer, Jennifer Coplea, Marlenee Blas, and David Ladner. sandra baltazar martínez

The annual Outstanding Staff Awards recognized 18 staff member nominees – and eight award recipients – during a reception at the chancellor’s residence.

On June 12, UCR Staff Assembly organized the annual event, meant to applaud the contributions employees make on a daily basis within their respective departments.

“It’s an honor to have a chance to meet all of you. I’m proud and pleased that you are part of our university,” Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox told the crowd, which included award winners, nominees, their families and coworkers, as well as several leaders from the campus administration.

Nominees under the “Staff Who Make a Difference” category, for the Outstanding Staff Awards. sandra baltazar martínez

This year 23 people were nominated under five categories, 18 were finalists, and eight were chosen as the award recipients. Meet the 2017 Outstanding Staff Awards winners:

Staff Who Make a Difference

  • Frank Figueroa, Career Center
  • Rena Burton, Academic Resource Center
  • David Ladner, Facilities Services
  • Ross French, School of Medicine, Dean’s Office

*Finalists nominated under this category also included: Amy Carrizosa, Associated Students of UCR; Dusan Stancic, Student Recreation Center; Kelly Eldridge Hinosawa, International Students and Scholars; Adrian Graves, Facilities Services; Benny Smith, Facilities Services; Tom Carlson, University Extension information systems; Sureyya Tuncel, Student Affairs technology services.


  • Brittnee Meitzenheimer, Human Resources Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action

People Helping People

  • Marlenee Blas, Career Center

Tartan Soul

  • Frederick Do, University Extension information systems

*Finalists nominated under this category also included: Amy Ricks, College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences Graduate Student Advising Center; Pauleen Stancic, Financial Aid.

Volunteer of the Year

  • Jennifer Coplea, College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences Undergraduate Advising Center

*Finalists nominated under this category also included: Seana Nunez-Grider, Human Resources employee and organizational development.

Nominees for the “Tartan Soul” award.

Nominees for the “Volunteer of the Year” award.


At the conclusion of the reception, Staff Assembly also announced their new executive board for 2017-2018, which becomes effective on July 1. New members are:

  • Julie Salgado – president
  • Ross French– vice president / president-elect
  • Justin Kuo – director of communications
  • Teresa Eoff– director of events
  • Wendy Wolfer – director of fundraising
  • Frank Figueroa – director of involvement & recognition
  • Crystal Petrini – director of outreach
  • Cherie Pierce – director of professional development
  • Jen Talbot– secretary
  • Penni Ebina – treasurer
  • Robert Wolfer – immediate past president

Media Contact

Tel: (951) 827-2653

Related Links

Archived under: Inside UCR, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Top of Page