BCOE Interim Dean Sharon L. Walker Named AEESP Fellow

Sharon L. Walker, Marlan and Rosemary Bourns Interim Dean

Sharon L. Walker, Interim Dean of the Marlan and Rosemary Bourns College of Engineering, Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, and John Babbage Chair in Environmental Engineering, has been named a Fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP).

The honor of fellowship is given to members who have demonstrated the highest levels of teaching, research and/or service in the environmental engineering or science professoriate and who have 15 or more years of continued membership within the organization.

Interim Dean Walker leads the UC Riverside Environmental Particle Fate and Transport Laboratory, which investigates the factors controlling bacterial and nanoparticle fate and transport as it pertains to water quality. Specifically, she explores the fundamental mechanisms involved in aggregation, deposition, and adhesion occurring at the molecular scale between environmental particles and surfaces. Interim Dean Walker is one of six Fellows named to the organization in 2017. Click here to view a complete list of 2017 Fellows.

AEESP is made up of professors in academic programs throughout the world who provide education in the sciences and technologies of environmental protection. Founded in 1963 as a private nonprofit organization, AEESP has grown to more than 700 members in universities throughout the world. The association assists its members in improving education and research programs, encourages graduate education, and serves the profession by providing information to government agencies and the public.

Media Contact

Tel: (951) 827-2988
E-mail: angela.meluski@ucr.edu

Archived under: Inside UCR, , ,

Top of Page