UC President’s and Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program

The University of California President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program participants. courtesy

The University of California President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program (PPFP) was established in 1984 to encourage outstanding women and minority Ph.D. recipients to pursue academic careers at the University of California.

The current program offers postdoctoral research fellowships, professional development and faculty mentoring to outstanding scholars in all fields whose research, teaching, and service will contribute to diversity and equal opportunity at UC.

In the 2017-18 academic year, there will be 69 PPFP/CPF fellows throughout the system. UCR campus is one of eight UC campuses that support a Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program (Berkeley, San Diego, Davis, UCLA, Irvine, Merced, Riverside and Santa Cruz). UCR’s campus will have three PPFP fellows and eight CPF fellows in residence this academic year.  The Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellows are selected through the same rigorous faculty review process and are eligible to participate in the professional development programs and hiring incentive provided by PPFP.

In the past decade, more than 100 fellows from these programs have been appointed to UC ladder-rank faculty appointments. Of the 87 UC faculty hired from these programs since 1995 who became eligible for tenure, 86 received tenure.

Our fellows currently in residence are:

Lisa A. Beard – Political Science

Eve Higby – Psychology

Kingsley O. Odigie – Earth & Planetary Science

Michael Accinno – Music/Music History

Tria Blu Wapka – Dance

Rebecca Chaleff – Critical Dance Studies

Wendy Sung – Media & Cultural Studies    

Roby Douilly – Earth & Planetary Science

Susila Gurusami – Sociology

Brittany N. Morey – Sociology

Brandon A Robinson – Women & Gender Studies

Read More: ppfp.ucop.edu/info/about-ppfp/index.html


Top of Page