22% of UC-CORO Systemwide Leadership Graduates are UCR Faculty and Staff

2017 UC-CORO Systemwide Leadership Collaboration Graduates, Full Cohort 1

UCOP leaders, UC chancellors, Chancellor’s Cabinet, sponsors, and nominators assembled Dec. 7 at the Office of the President in Oakland, Calif. to honor graduates of UC-CORO Systemwide Leadership Collaborative. Ten of the 45 graduates were UCR senior staff and faculty.

The eleven-month program focused on the benefits of inter-campus and cross-functional collaboration from all UC locations of both staff and academic senior leaders. The program includes campus explorations and interviews with campus leaders, providing the cohort direct opportunities to get a sense of the intellectual, administrative, and cultural atmosphere of multiple University of California campuses.

“Faculty leadership is what we do every day,” said Sharon Walker, Interim Dean of the Marlan and Rosemary Bourns College of Engineering and graduate of the program last year, in a video promoting the UC CORO program on its website. “The challenge is that faculty have never been officially trained to become leaders in a traditional sense of administration and leading others in the management of the university.”

In response to these challenges, UC-CORO implemented a program to enhance leadership skills and foster relationships, networking, and collaboration across UC Campuses, and has been assisting the University of California since 2006 to develop current and future administrative and faculty leaders.

The program is rigorous and requires a firm commitment of approximately 100 hours of seminars and intersession assignments. The group project is an additional time commitment of approximately 40 hours.

Congratulations to 2017 UC-CORO Participants from UCR:

-Allison Cantwell, assistant vice chancellor of Institutional Research

-Kaitlin Chell, director of Federal Relations

-Jay Farrell, professor and assistant dean of academic personnel of the Marlan and Rosemary Bourns College of Engineering

-Ian Foster, director of stewardship and donor relations

-Sang-Hee Lee, associate dean of Student Academic Affairs of the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

-Brenda Ice, former assistant dean of campus life, Student Affairs

-Elizbeth Mondragon, interim senior director, Student Health Services

-Andy Plumley, assistant vice chancellor, Auxiliary Services

-Ahmad Rahmani, director of Strategic Project Management

-Marie Schultz, assistant vice chancellor for Development


ECE Professor Wei Ren Wins IEEE Control Systems Society Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize

Professor Wei Ren

Wei Ren, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at UCR BCOE, has been awarded the 2017 IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS) Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize for “pioneering contributions to distributed coordination and control of multi-agent systems”. The award was presented during the CSS Awards Ceremony at the 2017 IEEE Conference on Decision and Control in Melbourne, Australia December 12-15, 2017. The award recognizes distinguished cutting-edge contributions by a young researcher at or under the age of 40 to the theory or application of systems and control.

The Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize was established in 2005 to honor the memory of Antonio Ruberti, one of the first three Professors of Automatic Control in Italy. He was later the Minister for the Coordination of Scientific and Technological Research of the Italian Government and Commissioner of the European Union for Science, Research and Education. More information about the award can be found at http://www.ieeecss.org/awards/antonio-ruberti-young-researcher-prize.

Top of Page