Anthropology Professor Honored by the Society for the Anthropology of North America

Yolanda T. Moses

UC Riverside anthropology professor Yolanda Moses was named the 2017 recipient of the Society for the Anthropology of North America (SANA) Prize for Distinguished Achievement in the Critical Study of North America.

Awarded annually since 1994, the honor is presented to one senior-level scholar per year for his or her “broad-based contributions to research, teaching, and service related to the development of critical studies of North America,” taking into account each recipient’s long-term research projects, publication history, and service-based contributions to the larger community.

Moses, whose research focuses on the origins of social inequality in complex societies, received the award for her portfolio of work geared toward minorities, higher education, and public policy. A longtime Highlander, she received her Ph.D. in anthropology from UCR and previously served as president of the American Anthropological Association, the world’s largest association for professional anthropologists.

“It was an unexpected surprise and honor for me,” Moses said of the SANA recognition. “Anthropology is the kind of field where you never know who is paying attention to your work. To be honored by my peers is the ultimate reward for me.”

Tess Eyrich

Naddia Palacios awarded National Award from NASPA

Naddia Palacios is the recipient of the 2018 Doris Michiko Ching Award for Excellence as a Student Affairs Professional

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Each year, NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education, recognizes members who are doing outstanding work in the student affairs profession. Naddia Palacios, director & CARE advocate; Campus Advocacy, Resources & Education, was selected as the recipient of the 2018 Doris Michiko Ching Award for Excellence as a Student Affairs Professional.

This national award recognizes mid-level student affairs professionals who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to the student affairs profession by creating environments that promote student learning and personal development. The award was renamed to honor NASPA’s first minority female Board of Directors chairwoman in 2016.

Palacios’ student affairs journey has been marked with excellence in an array of functional areas, as she’s claimed a special place in the hearts of colleagues and mentors who see her as a champion for raising and responding to critical issues on campus, and in higher education. Active within both the Latinx/a/o Knowledge Community and the newly founded Sexual and Relationship Violence Prevention, Education and Response Knowledge Community, Palacios is equally committed to giving back to and driving her arena forward.

Palacios and the other National Award winners will be honored in March at the 2018 NASPA Annual Conference in Philadelphia, PA.

NASPA is the leading association for the advancement, health, and sustainability of the student affairs profession. Our work provides high-quality professional development, advocacy, and research for 15,000 members in all 50 states, 25 countries, and 8 U.S. territories.

Top of Page