Health Care Policy Leadership Program Looks to SOM

Dr. Mikio A. Nihira

Dr. Mikio A. Nihira

Dr. Mikio A. Nihira, a clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology in the UCR School of Medicine, has received the 2018 Health Policy Scholarship from the American College of Surgeons and the American Urogynecologic Society.

The scholarship subsidizes attendance and participation in the Executive Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management at Brandeis University.

The intensive one-week program accepts 30-35 physician and surgeon leaders, and equips them with the knowledge and skills needed to create solutions aimed at improving the quality, cost-effectiveness, and efficiency of health care service delivery; and participate in health care policy and reform.

Program topics include individual and group decision-making, managing change in complex systems, and conflict negotiation.

“I will share what I learn with our medical students and residents,” Nihira said. “An additional goal is to facilitate the training of our residents to participate in health care policy and reform.”

-Iqbal Pittalwala

U.S. EPA Awards $40,000 Grant to Environmental Research Team

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has awarded a student team at the Marlan and Rosemary Bourns College of Engineering a grant to further develop an ammonia air scrubbing and filtration system. The People, Prosperity and the Planet (P3) grant will advance research in water reuse, waste recycling, and cost effectiveness.

“Research opportunities like this one are the cornerstone on which students construct lifelong careers in scientific research, environmental stewardship, and public service. I have no doubt our talented and motivated students will make huge strides toward accomplishing their goals, thanks to the fruitful partnership between UC Riverside and the EPA,” said the team’s faculty advisor, Kelley Barsanti, an assistant professor of chemical and environmental engineering at the school.

Nationally, EPA awarded more than $557,000 in funding for eight student teams through the P3 Grants Program during Phase II. These teams, made up of college students from across the country, are developing sustainable technologies to solve current environmental and public health challenges.

P3 Phase II winners include:

  • Montclair State University – Montclair, NJ
  • Clarkson University – Potsdam, NY
  • Kennesaw State University – Kennesaw, GA
  • University of Cincinnati – Cincinnati, OH
  • Texas Woman’s University – Denton, TX
  • California State University, Chico – Chico, CA
  • Butte College – Oroville, CA
  • University of California, Riverside – Riverside, CA

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Top of Page